Hindu Festival Calendar

Hindu Festival Calendar 2022: Printable

Hindu Festival Calendar: It’s been said often enough that Hindus celebrate everything. So they do. The birth of gods, death of asuras, victory of the gods, marriage of the gods, the new year, new months, full moons, new moons, harvests, birthdays, initiations, marriages, deaths, anniversaries – you name the event, and it is reason for music, dance, processions, and what have you.

And there is the religious bit lurking behind it all. The reasons for this lie deep, in the origin of Hinduism as an organic religion. Its followers have over time considered anything, animate or inanimate, to be sacred and aspects of divinity.

That is also why even secular events like harvests take on religious overtones, with the patron deity presiding over the festivities. As soon as something happens, there is a kind of thanksgiving to the divine that follows it.

Apart from the universally celebrated festivals like Dussehra, Diwali and Ganesh Chaturthi, there are others that are observed in specific communities or geographical areas. Hindu holidays are also confined to particular regions by the importance a certain god enjoys.

Worship of Kartikeya (as during the festival of Skanda Shashti) is predominant in Tamil Nadu, where the god is considered a patron of the region. Onam is a good example of a festival that is celebrated solely by Keralites. Another interesting aspect of Onam is that it is perhaps the only major Hindu festival that celebrates the reign of an asura king, although a benevolent one.

The profusion of legends and the contradictions inherent in them is reflected in festivals too. Travel around the country, and you will hear people tell you a variety of legends involving different gods behind a single festival. Besides, you will also find versions of the same festival being celebrated under different names in different regions.

All this adds that facet of unending novelty and constant change to the strikingly colorful kaleidoscope that is India. You might end up thinking the thought: “The more things change, the more they remain the same”, which is something often said about India and its magical agelessness.

With so many holy days and more than 20 major Hindu festivals, the calendar should be liberally sprinkled with them. But it isn’t so. There is a distinct festival season, which runs from late August through December. This is when there is a fever of celebrations, with a string of important festivals following one another in a rush.

But the major festivals are not the only ones that the people celebrate. Browse through the Hindu almanac, and you will find a mention of holiness or sacredness against almost every day of the year. Most of the lesser festivals are lesser because they have a private rather than public face. There are rituals for phases of the moon, solar and lunar eclipses, days of the week, a person’s auspicious star or zodiac sign.

Hindu Festival Calendar 2022: Printable

Hindu Festival Calendar – January 2022

Jan 01, Saturday New Year Day
Jan 09, Sunday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti
Jan 12, Wednesday Birthday of Swami Vivekananda
Jan 14, Friday Pongal, Makar Sankranti
Jan 15, Saturday Vassi Uttarayan
Jan 26, Wednesday Republic Day

Hindu Festival Calendar – February 2022

Feb 05, Saturday Basant Panchami
Feb 14, Monday Vishwakarma Jayanti
Feb 15, Tuesday Birthday of Hazrat Ali
Feb 16, Wednesday Guru Ravidas Jayanti
Feb 19, Saturday Chhatrapati Shivaji Jayanti

Hindu Festival Calendar – March 2022

Mar 01, Tuesday Maha Shivaratri
Mar 17, Thursday Holika Dahan
Mar 18, Friday Shab-e-Barat, Holi

Hindu Festival Calendar – April 2022

Apr 02, Saturday Ugadi, Chetichand, Gudi Padwa
Apr 10, Sunday Shree Ram Navmi
Apr 14, Thursday Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Jayanti, Tamil New Year, Mahavir Jayanti
Apr 15, Friday Bengali New Year’s Day, Hatkeshwar Jayanti, Good Friday
Apr 16, Saturday Hanuman Jayanti
Apr 17, Sunday Easter
Apr 28, Thursday Shab-E-Qadr
Apr 29, Friday Jamat-Ul-Vida

May 2022

May 01, Sunday May Day
May 03, Tuesday Parashuram Jayanti, Eid ul fitr, Akshaya Tritiya
May 06, Friday Shankaracharya Jayanti
May 07, Saturday Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti
May 16, Monday Buddha Purnima
May 30, Monday Vat Savitri Vrat

June 2022

Jun 14, Tuesday Kabir Jayanti

July 2022

Jul 01, Friday Rath Yatra
Jul 10, Sunday Bakrid
Jul 13, Wednesday Guru Purnima
Jul 31, Sunday Hariyali Teej

August 2022

Aug 08, Monday Moharram
Aug 11, Thursday Raksha Bandhan
Aug 15, Monday Independence Day
Aug 19, Friday Krishna Janmashtami
Aug 20, Saturday Nand Utsav
Aug 30, Tuesday Hartalika Teej
Aug 31, Wednesday Ganesh Chaturthi

Hindu Calendar Festivals and Holidays in September 2022

Sep 01, Thursday Rishi Panchami
Sep 08, Thursday Thiruvonam
Sep 09, Friday Anant Chaturdashi
Sep 25, Sunday Mahalaya
Sep 26, Monday Durga Puja Ghatasthapan

Hindu Calendar Festivals and Holidays in October 2022

Oct 02, Sunday Gandhi Jayanti
Oct 03, Monday Durgashtami
Oct 04, Tuesday Mahanavami
Oct 05, Wednesday Vijayadashami
Oct 09, Sunday Lakshmi Puja, Sharad Purnima, Milad-Un-Nabi
Oct 13, Thursday Karva Chauth
Oct 23, Sunday Dhan Terash
Oct 24, Monday Kali Puja, Naraka Chaturdashi, Diwali
Oct 25, Tuesday Gujarati New Year, Govardhan Puja
Oct 26, Wednesday Bhai Bij
Oct 30, Sunday Chhath Puja

Hindu Calendar Festivals and Holidays in November 2022

Nov 02, Wednesday Akshaya Navami
Nov 07, Monday Dev Diwali
Nov 08, Tuesday Kartika Purnima, Guru Nanak Jayanti

Hindu Calendar Festivals and Holidays in December 2022

Dec 03, Saturday Shrimad Bhagwad Gita Jayanti
Dec 25, Sunday Christmas
Dec 29, Thursday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti

Check Also

Jallianwala Day

Jallianwala Day Memorial Day Information

Jallianwala Day Memorial Day Information: The day is remembered as the atrocious day of Indian …