The Ramayana is an ancient Sanskrit epic.

It is ascribed to the Hindu sage Valmiki and forms an important part of the Hindu canon, considered to be itihasa. The Ramayana is one of the two great epics of India and Nepal, the other being the Mahabharata. It depicts the duties of relationships, portraying ideal characters like the ideal father, ideal servant, the ideal brother, the ideal wife and the ideal king. The Ramayana has been divided into following chapters by Tulsidas as per the events and importance of the life of lord Shri Ram.

Bala Kand

The Bala Kand describes the birth of Rama, his childhood and marriage to Sita.

Ayodhya Kand

The Ayodhya Kand describes the preparations for Rama’s coronation and his exile into the forest.

Aranya Kand

The third part, Aranya Kand, describes the forest life of Rama and the kidnapping of Sita by the demon king Ravana.

Kishkindha Kand

The fourth book, Kishkindha Kand, describes the meeting of Hanuman with Rama, the destruction of the vanara king Vali and the coronation of his younger brother Sugriva to the throne of the kingdom of Kishkindha.

Sunder KandComplete

The fifth book is Sundara Kanda, which narrates the heroism of Hanuman, his flight to Lanka and meeting with Sita.

Yuddha Kand

The sixth book, Yuddha Kand, describes the battle between Rama’s and Ravana’s armies.

Uttara Kanda

The last book, Uttara Kand, describes the birth of Lava and Kusha to Sita, their coronation to the throne of Ayodhya, and Rama’s final departure from the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.