What is a prefecture in the context of Japan?

What is a prefecture in the context of Japan?The prefectures of Japan are the country’s 47 sub-national jurisdictions: one “metropolis”, Tokyo; one “circuit”, Hokkaido; two urban prefectures, Osaka and Kyoto; and 43 other prefectures. In Japanese, they are commonly referred to as todofuken. Prefectures are governmental bodies larger than cities, towns, and villages. Under the law, each prefecture is subdivided into cities and districts.

Check Also

Janmashtami Legends: Stories Of Krishnashtami

Janmashtami Legends & Related Stories

Janmashtami Legends: Interesting legends are related with Krishna Janmashtami celebrations. Go through the article and …