FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cup Finals Winners

The FIFA World Cup is an international association football competition established in 1930. It is contested by the men’s national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. The tournament has taken place every four years, except in 1942 and 1946, when the competition was cancelled due to World War II. The most recent World Cup, hosted by Brazil in 2014, was won by Germany, who beat Argentina 1–0 after extra time.

World Cup Final Goals 1998 to 2014

The World Cup final match is the last of the competition, and the result determines which country is declared world champions. If after 90 minutes of regular play the score is a draw, an additional 30-minute period of play, called extra time, is added. If such a game is still tied after extra time it is decided by kicks from the penalty shoot-out. The team winning the penalty shoot-out are then declared champions. The tournament has been decided by a one-off match on every occasion except 1950, when the tournament winner was decided by a final round-robin group contested by four teams (Uruguay, Brazil, Sweden and Spain). Uruguay’s 2–1 victory over Brazil was the decisive match (and one of the last two matches of the tournament) which put them ahead on points and ensured that they finished top of the group as world champions. Therefore, this match is regarded by FIFA as the de facto final of the 1950 World Cup.

List of finals matches, venues, locations, finalists and final scores

Year: 2018
Winners: France
Final score: 4-2
Runners-up: Croatia
Venue: Luzhniki Stadium
Location: Moscow, Russia
Attendance: 78,011

Year: 2014
Winners: Germany
Final score: 1–0
Runners-up: Argentina
Venue: Estádio do Maracanã
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Attendance: 74,738

Year: 2010
Winners: Spain
Final score: 1–0
Runners-up: Netherlands
Venue: Soccer City
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Attendance: 84,490

Year: 2006
Winners: Italy
Final score: 1–1
Runners-up: France
Venue: Olympiastadion
Location: Berlin, Germany
Attendance: 69,000

Year: 2002
Winners: Brazil
Final score: 2–0
Runners-up: Germany
Venue: International Stadium Yokohama
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Attendance: 69,029

Year: 1998
Winners: France
Final score: 3–0
Runners-up: Brazil
Venue: Stade de France
Location: Saint-Denis (Paris), France
Attendance: 80,000

Year: 1994
Winners: Brazil
Final score: 0–0
Runners-up: Italy
Venue: Rose Bowl
Location: Pasadena (Los Angeles), California, United States
Attendance: 94,194

Check Also

Tokyo Olympics: India Hockey wins Bronze medal after 41 years

Tokyo Olympics: India Hockey wins Bronze medal after 41 years

India scored its first goal in the 3rd minute of the match, with Rupinder Pal …