Home » Kids Questions & Answers » Games & Sports Questions & Answers » Which country hosted the 1975 ICC Cricket World Cup?

Which country hosted the 1975 ICC Cricket World Cup?

Which country hosted the 1975 ICC Cricket World Cup?The 1975 Cricket World Cup (officially called the Prudential Cup) was the first edition of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) cricket world cup. It was held from 7 June to 21 June 1975 in England. The tournament was sponsored by Prudential Assurance Company and had 8 participating countries. These were the 6 Test playing teams of that time (namely Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan & West Indies) and Sri Lanka & East Africa. The preliminary matches were played in 2 groups of 4 each. The top two teams from each group then played the knock-out rounds of semi-finals and final.

The matches were played as 60 overs per team in traditional white clothing and with red balls. They were all played during the day and, hence, started early. One of the most bizarre batting efforts in one-day history was made by Indian legend Sunil Gavaskar. England scored 334 (4 wickets, 60 overs) with Dennis Amiss (137 from 147 balls, 18 fours) scoring the first ever World Cup century, nobly supported by Keith Fletcher (68 from 107 balls, 4 fours, 1 six). The response of Gavaskar (36 from 174 balls, 1 four) was to bat through the 60 overs for 36 not out.

Check Also

Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar — Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar (born 24 April 1973) is an Indian cricketer. He …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *