ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 West Indies Quiz

ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 West Indies Quiz (15 Questions):

ICC Cricket World Cup

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organised by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), every four years, with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament. The tournament is one of the world’s most viewed sporting events and is considered the “flagship event of the international cricket calendar” by the ICC.

The first World Cup was organised in England in June 1975, with the first ODI cricket match having been played only four years earlier. However, a separate Women’s Cricket World Cup had been held two years before the first men’s tournament, and a tournament involving multiple international teams had been held as early as 1912, when a triangular tournament of Test matches was played between Australia, England and South Africa. The first three World Cups were held in England. From the 1987 tournament onwards, hosting has been shared between countries under an unofficial rotation system, with fourteen ICC members having hosted at least one match in the tournament.

Your Score:  

Your Ranking:  

ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 Host selection

The World Cup was awarded to the West Indies via the International Cricket Council’s rotational policy. It is the first time the ICC Cricket World Cup has been held in the Caribbean despite the fact that the West Indies cricket team had been the second most successful team in past World Cups.

The United States contingent lobbied strongly for matches to be staged at its newly built cricket ground in Lauderhill, Florida, but the ICC decided to award all matches to Caribbean nations. Bids from Bermuda, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and a second bid by Jamaica were also rejected.

Eight venues across the West Indies were selected to host the World Cup tournament. All host countries hosted six matches with the exceptions of St. Lucia, Jamaica, and Barbados (which hosted the final), each of which hosted seven matches.

The Jamaican government spent US$81 million for “on-the-pitch” expenses. This included refurbishing Sabina Park and constructing the new multi-purpose facility in Trelawny through a loan from China. Another US$20 million was budgeted for ‘off-the-pitch’ expenses, putting the tally at more than US$100 million or JM$7 billion.

This put the reconstruction cost of Sabina Park at US$46 million whilst the Trelawny Stadium was estimated to cost US$35 million. The total amount of money spent on stadiums was at least US$301 million.

Brian Lara Stadium, in Trinidad, lost its status as a pre-tournament warm-up match venue on 21 September 2006.

Attempt Part I (10 Questions Quiz) Attempt Part II (15 Questions Quiz) Attempt Part III (10 Questions Quiz)

Check Also

India Freedom Fighters Quiz: Multiple Choice Question Answers Quiz

India Freedom Fighters Quiz For Students

India Freedom Fighters Quiz: 23 Questions India Freedom Fighters Quiz For Students And Children: Beginners …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *