Print | Recommend This Site

Born to Die - Lana Del Rey

The second studio album and major label debut by American singer-songwriter Lana Del Rey...

By: Unisersal Music

Last Updated On: Friday, December 28, 2012


Born to Die is the second studio album (fourth overall release) and major label debut by American singer songwriter Lana Del Rey. The album was released on January 27, 2012 on iTunes and on January 31, 2012 by Interscope Records, Polydor Records, and Stranger Records. After signing a record contract with Stranger in June 2011, Del Rey released her debut single, "Video Games", which propelled her online popularity. Del Rey then started to give interviews to several newspapers and online magazines, as well as making live appearances to promote her work. The album's second single, "Born to Die", was released on December 30, 2011.

Del Rey evokes elements of music artists such as Elvis Presley, Britney Spears, and Antony and the Johnsons. Musically, Born to Die is a pop album but derives characteristics from such musical genres as alternative hip hop, sadcore, and alternative pop. Born to Die received generally mixed reviews from contemporary critics, with some giving praise to the album's distinctive sound, whilst others criticized the songs' repetitiveness and the melodramatic production, which they thought was too overwhelming over the course of 1215 tracks. Despite attracting polarization from music commentators, the album was generally a commercial success. It topped the charts in seven countries including Australia, France, Germany, and the United Kingdom.

Track listing

  1. Born to Die
  2. Off to the Races
  3. Blue Jeans
  4. Video Games
  5. Diet Mountain Dew
  6. National Anthem
  7. Dark Paradise
  8. Radio
  9. Carmen
  10. Million Dollar Man
  11. Summertime Sadness
  12. This Is What Makes Us Girls

Elizabeth Woolridge Grant (born June 21, 1986), better known by her stage name Lana Del Rey, is an American singer and songwriter. She has been described as a "self-styled gangsta Nancy Sinatra", and cites Britney Spears, Eminem and Antony and the Johnsons amongst her musical influences.

Del Rey's major-label debut album, Born to Die, debuted at number one in seven countries, including the United Kingdom and Australia. The album has spawned two worldwide top 10 hits: "Video Games" and "Born to Die".


Lana Del Rey Albums, Studio Album By Lana Del Rey, American Singer Songwriter, Interscope Records, Polydor Records, Stranger Records, Video Games, Lana Del Rey Born To Die, Lana Del Ray Music Albums, Albums Produced by Emile Haynie, Elizabeth Woolridge Grant