Dil Bechara Movie: 2019 Hindi Romantic Comedy

Dil Bechara Movie: 2020 Hindi Romantic Comedy

Movie Name: Dil Bechara Movie
Directed by: Mukesh Chhabra
Starring: Sushant Singh Rajput, Sanjana Sanghi, Saif Ali Khan
Music: A. R. Rahman
Genre: Comedy, Romance, Drama
Release Date: 24 July 2020
Running Time: 101 Minutes
Rating:    
Original Network: Disney+ Hotstar

A love story about two cancer patients.

Dil Bechara is an upcoming Indian Hindi-language romantic comedy film directed by Mukesh Chhabra and produced by Fox Star Studios. It is based on author John Green’s 2012 novel The Fault in Our Stars, which was also adapted in film as the The Fault in Our Stars (2014). The film stars Sushant Singh Rajput and debutant Sanjana Sanghi in the lead roles, and features music composed by A. R. Rahman. Chhabra, a prominent casting director, will make his debut as director with the film. The first look poster of the film was released on 9 July 2018 which featured the back of the two leads sitting atop a bus with an oxygen cylinder next to them. Singh shared the poster via his Twitter handle.

Sushant Singh Rajput’s “Kizie Aur Manny” Renamed “Dil Bechara” | The Fault in Our Stars

Movie Production:

In October 2017, it was announced that casting director Mukesh Chhabra will make his directorial debut with the remake of The Fault In Our Stars, starring Sushant Singh Rajput. In March, 2018, it was announced that A. R. Rahman will compose the film’s music. It was followed by the announcement of the lead actress, debutant Sanjana Sanghi. The film’s principal photography began on 9 July 2018 under the working title of Kizie aur Manny in Jamshedpur. The music rights of this film has been acquired by Sony Music India. On 18 October 2018 Fox Star Studios suspended director Mukesh Chhabra from his services following sexual harassment allegations against him. in August 2018, a song was shot in one of the premier colleges of Ranchi. On 29 August 2018, Farah Khan was shooting a song with Sushant Singh Rajput in the film. It was also reported that a song and few scenes would be shot in Paris as a part of film’s last schedule. Mukesh Chhabra returned to the service after getting clean chit on #Metoo allegations from ICC.

In February 2019, the title of the movie was officially changed to “Dil Bechara”. This new title of the film has been drawn from the lyrics penned by Amitabh Bhattacharya & composed by A. R. Rahman for one of the tracks of the film, as the makers felt that this title embodied the theme of the movie perfectly.

The film score and soundtrack are composed by maestro A. R. Rahman with lyrics penned by Amitabh Bhattacharya. The music rights of this film has been bought by Sony Music India.

Movie Trailer:

Dil Bechara Movie Review:

As we sit down to watch Sushant Singh Rajput’s last film, let us leave behind the controversies and primetime debates to celebrate the actor and his art.

Hazel’s favourite book from The Fault in Our Stars did not make it to Dil Bechara, but its famous line holds true as we sit down and watch Sushant Singh Rajput one last time. The last time he makes an ‘entry’, the last time he sings and dances, the last time he woos the leading lady, the last time he breaks down, unable to take the weight of it all.

There is no doubt that Dil Bechara’s viewership this Friday evening would break more than a few records. The film has been made available for free, as a tribute to the actor. The millions who will be watching the film are looking for something more sublime and ephemeral than entertainment – they are perhaps searching for catharsis. And amid the open animus and deep schisms, perhaps art can be the only salve. Dil Bechara is a celebration of Sushant and the deep love that brought him to Mumbai, and made him a star. The film is about the millions of fans who are bidding goodbye to their loved one, beyond the hostility and bitter primetime debates.

Sushant plays Emmanuel Rajkumar Jr, or Manny, whose life was just ‘touched’ by osteosarcoma. He enters the films backside first, engrossed in his ‘worship’ of Rajinikanth. Sensitive, sexy and smart – all at the same time – he manages to pull Sanjana Sanghi’s Kizie Basu out of the stupor she has fallen into. A cancer patient herself, Kizie’s constant companions are her oxygen cylinder – nicknamed Pushpinder – that she lugs around, and her concerned parents (played by Swastika Mukherjee and Saswata Chaterjee).

As the camera captures Jamshedpur in all its beauty, Kizie and Manny’s low-key courtship happens over Thalaiva’s movies and an incomplete music album. Kizie believes she has found a kindred soul in the album’s creator, Abhimanyu Veer, who went AWOL years ago. Manny finds him for her and wins over her parents and her doctor’s objections so that they can go and visit the musician in Paris.

The film veers away from its source material, the John Green novel, and its largely faithful Hollywood adaptation, starring Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort. Adapted by Shashank Khaitan and Suprotim Sengupta, the script loses the novel’s acerbic humour and its hyper-verbal but self-aware leads. If The Fault in Our Stars was a YA cancer drama about two people who refuse to take any of the platitudes seriously, Dil Bechara is primarily a romance of two star-crossed lovers.

The film’s message of laughing in the face of death is bittersweet and poignant. A dialogue about suicide actually made me wince. I would, however, prefer to remember Dil Bechara for Sushant telling the world, “Janam kab lena hai aur marna kab hai yeh hum decide nehi kar sakte, lekin kaise jeena hai woh toh hum decide kar sakte hai”. It is this message of hope I intend to take away from the film.

In Sanjana, Dil Bechara has found a confident actor who keeps Kizie natural and engaging. Both Saswata and Swastika bring depth to their performances as parents hovering over their daughter, worrying what tomorrow might bring. Debutant director Mukesh Chhabra is yet to find his distinctive cinematic style and the film does miss a few steps.

Would I call this Sushant’s best performance? No, I will not. I remember sitting stunned in a theater as I watched him as Lakhna in Sonchiriya, a ‘baaghi’ mulling over the concept of justice in the unforgiving ravines of Chambal. I still marvel at his transformation in MS Dhoni: The Untold Story when I had to remind myself that I was watching an actor playing the cricketer in that 3-hour-40-minute drama. And then there was the wet-behind-the-ears Byomkesh Bakshy, whose adventures were cut short by a heartless box office. Having said that, Manny will always be special to me and to you. Because this is the last time we will see Sushant, a talented young man with stars in his eyes, telling us a new story.

Dil Bechara Movie Songs:

Dil Bechara – A musical tribute to Sushant Singh Rajput

Song Title: Dil Bechara
Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya
Music: A. R. Rahman
Singer(s): A. R. Rahman

Song Title: Taare Ginn
Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya
Music: A. R. Rahman
Singer(s): Shreya Ghoshal, Mohit Chauhan

Song Title: Khulke Jeene Ka
Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya
Music: A. R. Rahman
Singer(s): Arijit Singh, Shashaa Tirupati

Check Also

Taish: 2020 Bollywood Revenge Drama Film

Taish: 2020 Bollywood Revenge Drama Film

Movie Name: Taish Directed by: Bejoy Nambiar Starring: Pulkit Samrat, Kriti Kharbanda, Jim Sarbh, Harshvardhan Rane, Sanjeeda Sheikh …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *