Print | Recommend This Site

IPL Match 3: Mumbai Indians Vs Pune Warriors India

Fine bowling by Ashok Dinda (4/17) and Murali Kartik (2/14) guided Pune Warriors to a convincing 29-run win over Mumbai Indians in their IPL clash at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai...

Last Updated On: Saturday, April 7, 2012


Fine bowling by Ashok Dinda (4/17) and Murali Kartik (2/14) guided Pune Warriors to a convincing 29-run win over Mumbai Indians in their IPL clash at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai on Friday.

Chasing 130, Mumbai Indians, who lost half of their side inside 13 overs against Pune Warriors, could all manage 100 runs for the loss of nine wickets after the end of 20 overs.

Seamer Ashok Dinda got his fourth wicket when he trapped Mumbai Indians' skipper Harbhajan Singh in the last over of the innings with a fine yorker. Dinda finished with figures of 4/17 in his quota of four overs.

Dinda got rid of James Franklin, who was holding one end quite well, to pick up his third wicket as Mumbai Indians lost their seventh wicket at the score of 88.

Leg-spinner Rahul Sharma, who finished with the figures of 1/16, cleaned up dangerous Kieron Pollard to give Pune crucial breakthrough.

Mumbai Indians lost Suryakumar Yadav, who replaced Sachin Tendulkar in the playing XI, in the form of fifth wicket after he was cleaned up by Marlon Samuels.

Murali Kartik picked up his second wicket as he foxed well-set Dinesh Karthik, who scored a 32-ball 32 with the help of four boundaries and one six.

Earlier, Mumbai Indians got off to a poor start as they were three down with just five runs on the board after Pune Warriors were restricted to 129.

Murali Kartik gave Pune the first breakthrough as he sent back Richard Levi, without allowing him to get off the mark, in his very first over.

Ashok Dinda then rattled the hosts with his double-strike, dismissing Ambati Rayudu (1) and Rohit Sharma (1) in the second over of their innings.

Earlier, Mumbai Indians bowlers rose in unison as they picked up wickets at regular intervals to restrict Pune Warriors India for a paltry score of 129.

Pune Warriors India, who were 105 for 6 after the end of 17 overs, managed to score 129 for the loss of nine wickets in 20 overs. Murali Kartik remained unbeaten on 14.

Lasith Malinga and Munaf Patel picked up two wickets each in their quota of four overs while Harbhajan, Pragyan Ojha and Kieron Pollard got one wicket each.

Pune Warriors got off to a bad start as they lost Manish Pandey, Sourav Ganguly and Wayne Parnell in quick succession against Mumbai Indians in their IPL clash.

Steven Smith scored crucial 39 runs with the help of four boundaries before being dismissed by Munaf Patel in the last over of the innings. Lasith Malinga picked up his second wicket as he yorked Marlon Samuels to give Mumbai Indians another wicket.

Seamer Kieron Pollard gave a denting blow to Pune Warriors as he dismissed Robin Uthappa, who scored a 33-balll 36. Uthappa added crucial 44 runs alongwith Steven Smith for the fifth wicket.

Mumbai Indians captain Harbhajan Singh's decision to bowl first, after winning the toss against Pune Warriors India, reaped benefits as Mumbai bowlers sent back top three Pune Warriors batsmen back to pavillion inside 5 overs.

Seamer Lasith Malinga dismissed Manish Pandey (0) in the very first over to give Mumbai Indians first breakthrough. Skipper Harbhajan Singh got rid of Pune Warriors skipper Sourav Ganguly (3) while Wayne Parnell was clean bowled by Munaf Patel.

Pune Warriors got some resistance through Robin Uthappa and Callum Ferguson as the duo added 20 runs for the fourth wicket. Callum Ferguson was unlucky as he got run out from a fine direct-hit by Rohit Sharma.

Suryakumar Yadav replaced injured Sachin Tendulkar while Munaf Patel came in place of Abu Nechim in the Mumbai Indians' playing eleven.


Ashok Dinda, Murali Kartik, Pune Warriors, Mumbai Indians, IPL Clash, Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, Mumbai Indians Skipper Harbhajan Singh, James Franklin, Rahul Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Suryakumar Yadav, Sachin Tendulkar, Marlon Samuels, Dinesh Karthik, Richard Levi, Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga, Munaf Patel, Pragyan Ojha, Manish Pandey, Wayne Parnell, Robin Uthappa, Pune Warriors Skipper Sourav Ganguly, IPL 2012, IPL 5