Home » Culture & Tradition of India » Durga Puja Date 2018: When is Durga Puja 2018
Durga Puja Quotes in English

Durga Puja Date 2018: When is Durga Puja 2018

Durga Puja is an important Hindu festival in India. It is also known as ‘Durgotsab’ or ‘Navratra’. It is basically a ten days long festival in which Durga or Shakti, the Goddess of power is worshiped. The Goddess is worshiped in nine different forms namely Shailputri, Brahmcharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri in a long and intricate affair. Though this festival is celebrated throughout the country, the zeal and enthusiasm of the celebrations in the northern belt of the country in the state of West Bengal, Odisha, Bihar and Tripura is incomparable to any other place. The celebrations in the capital of West Bengal, Kolkata is renowned all over the world.

Durga Puja falls between the autumn months of September end to November beginning. The dates of the Pooja are decided according to the Hindu religious calendar. Most of the religions now follow either a solar calendar or a lunar calendar. But for the majority of Hindus, it is a combination of both and a sole decider of the dates of the religious celebrations. According to the Hindu solar calendar, Durga Pooja falls begins on the first day of Ashwin month and go on till the nine days of the month. The days are counted in accordance with sun rise and sun set. However, timings of all religious ceremonies are decided according to the lunar months.

The religious ceremonies of the Hindu Bengalis are as per the traditions and are scheduled in accordance with the timings of the moon’s movement, which is called as ‘Tithhi’. Thus, the entire schedule of the Puja is also structured on the basis of the ‘Tithhi’. The Devi Paksha i.e. the fortnight in which the Puja falls is decided in with the auspicious occasion of the Mahalaya (the day which indicates the homecoming of Mother Goddess), which falls on the day of the New moon.

The Durga Pooja is celebrated for nine days. However the last six days are more festive than the first three. From the day of Shashti i.e the sixth day, community gathering, celebrations and feasts begin with immense fervor. The last four days of Puja begins from the sixth day of the full moon phase that follows the Mahalaya and finishes with the Dashami or the tenth day. In between these six days, there are different kinds of special ceremonies on Maha Saptami, Maha Ashtami, Maha Nabami. In the wee hours of ‘Saptami,’ the ‘Pran’ or life of the Devi is brought from a nearby pond or river in a banana tree and installed inside the idol. Customs like ‘Sandhikshan,’ the crossover time between Ashtami and Navami are also done in accordance with the ‘ghadi and tithi’ as per the calendar. Then on the last day, Dashami is celebrated. It is four days short of the full moon night, called Kojagori Purnima.

Durga Puja Calendar 2018:

Monday Oct 15 ~ Friday, Oct 19, 2018

  • 15th October 2018 – Shashthi
  • 16th October 2018 – Saptami
  • 17th October 2018 – Ashtami
  • 18th October 2018 – Navami
  • 19th October 2018 – Vijaya Dashmi

Durga Puja Calendar 2019:

Tuesday Oct 04 ~ Tuesday, Oct 08, 2019

  • 04th October 2019 – Shashthi
  • 05th October 2019 – Saptami
  • 06th October 2019 – Ashtami
  • 07th October 2019 – Navami
  • 08th October 2019 – Vijaya Dashmi

Check Also

Akshaya Tritiya Rituals: Hindu - Jain Culture & Traditions

Akshaya Tritiya Rituals In Hindus And Jains

Akshaya Tritiya or Akha Teej, also known as Navanna Parvam, is celebrated with full enthusiasm …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *